Herderick reelected to America Makes Executive Committee

Posted: December 19, 2022

Edward Herderick, director of additive manufacturing at the Center for Design and Manufacturing Excellence (CDME), was recently reelected to the America Makes Executive Committee.

As the strategic advisor for America Makes—the nation’s leading public-private partnership for additive manufacturing technology and education—the committee ensures the appropriate strategy, policy and advocacy are in place to advance additive manufacturing across the country. In his first term, Herderick advised America Makes on technical scope of projects, partnership strategies and workforce education curriculum. Before being elected to the executive committee, Herderick was also an America Makes ambassador.

“I am very excited to welcome our newest members to the Executive Committee and I look forward to collaborating with such a diverse and knowledgeable group of experts,” stated John Wilczynski, executive director of America Makes. “Each of these individuals shares a passion and commitment to expanding the additive manufacturing ecosystem on a global level and act as champions for America Makes throughout their respective organizations and market segments.”

Founded in 2012, America Makes is the Department of Defense’s national manufacturing innovation institute for additive manufacturing. It is based in Youngstown, Ohio.

“I am truly honored to be reelected to serve on this committee,” said Herderick.  “My passion is growing the additive manufacturing community and I love having the opportunity to collaborate with amazing people across the country to push this industry forward.”

CDME has collaborated with America Makes on numerous occasions since becoming a member in 2018. The partnership has funded many projects at the center, including research to advance lightweight design for additive manufacturing, and understand why build interruptions occur via various additive manufacturing monitoring methods. CDME also hosted America Makes’ Technical Review Exchange at The Ohio State University’s Columbus campus in 2021.

 In addition to Herderick, the other members of the executive committee include:

  • Rachel Andrulonis, director, advanced materials research, National Institute for Aviation Research at Wichita State University
  • Stephanie Gaffney, director, advanced manufacturing programs, Youngstown Business Incubator
  • Brian Meincke, vice president, global business development and innovation strategy, ASTM International
  • Melanie Lang, CEO, FormAlloy
  • Nicholas Mule, director, additive manufacturing, Boeing
  • Brian Rosenberger, senior technical fellow, Lockheed Martin
  • Zach Simkin, president, Senvol
  • Shawn Moylan, mechanical engineer and project leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Beth Ripley, deputy chief, office of healthcare innovation and learning, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Rick Russell, NESC technical fellow for materials, NASA